Musique électroacoustique latino-américaine

Fernando López Lezcano (Argentine)

[Traduction non disponible]
Fernando López Lezcano (born in Buenos Aires, 1956) started working with electroacoustic music by building his own analog studio and synthesizers around 1976.

Among other works, López-Lezcano composed: "Búsqueda" for tape in 1986; "Hot'n Cold" for stereo tape in 1991; "Three Dreams" for quadraphonic tape in 1993; "Espresso Machine II" for electronic cello, MIDI controlled synthesizers and PadMaster (controlled by a Radio Drum), between 1993 and 1995; "Knock knock... anybody there? for quadraphonic tape in 1994; "With Room to Grow" for MIDI controlled instruments and PadMaster in 1996; "House of Mirrors" for MIDI controlled instruments, soundfile playback and PadMaster between 1996 and 1997;

About "House of Mirrors" he wrote: "… is an improvisational tour through a musical form and a four channel sound environment ... The sound of doors opening and closing define the transitions between rooms, corridors and open spaces, where soundfile playback and MIDI controlled synthesis mix to create different atmospheres sharing a common thread of pitches, intensities and timbres. The journey through the House of Mirrors is controlled in real time through an interactive improvisation software package - PadMaster - developed by the composer over the past three years. The Mathews/Boie Radio Drum is the three dimensional controller that conveys the performer's gestures to PadMaster. The surface of the Radio Drum is split by PadMaster into virtual pads, each one individually programmable to react to baton hits and gestures, each one a small part of the musical puzzle that unravels through the performance. Hits can play soundfiles, notes, phrases or can create or destroy musical performers. Each active pad is always "listening" to the position of the batons in 3D space and translating the movements (if programmed to do so) into MIDI continuous control messages that are merged with the stream of notes being played. The virtual pads are arranged in sets or scenes that represent sections of the piece. As it unfolds, the behavior of the surface is constantly redefined by the performer as he moves through the predefined scenes. The performance of "House of Mirrors" oscillates between the rigid world of determinism as represented by the scores or soundfiles contained in each pad, and the freedom of improvisation the performer / composer has in arranging those tiles of music in time and space."

He lives in the United States, working at CCRMA - Center for Computer Research in Music and Acoustics at Stanford University as Lecturer and Systems Administrator.

(text updated: March, 2004)

Ressources disponibles pour ce compositeur :
- Liste des compositions (4 compositions)

Table des matières :