Musique électroacoustique latino-américaine

Alfredo Rugeles (Venezuela)

[Traduction non disponible]
Alfredo Rugeles (born in Washington DC, United States, 1949), composer and conductor, studied music at Escuela Juan Manuel Olivares in Caracas and later at Robert Schumann Institute in Düsseldorf, Germany.

In 1979 he obtained in Venezeual the Premio Nacional de Composición (National Composition Award) and in 1985 the Premio Municipal de Música. His repertoire embrace the universal symphonic music as well as the opera, having conducted numerous opening nights of works by Venezuelan composers and first auditions of the international contemporary repertoire.

In December 1990 he was appointed Director of the Circuito Sinfónico Latinoamericano “Simón Bolívar” (“Simón Bolívar” Latin-American Symphonic Circuit) and Artistic Director of the Festivales Latinoamericanos de Música (Latin-American Music Festivals) of Caracas, by the Consejo Interamericano de Música (Inter-American Music Council; CIDEM, by its acronym in Spanish) of the Organization of American States. Worth mentioning this festivals are a major event for Venezuela and the Latin American new music scene.

Since January 1991 he is Associated Musical Director of Orquesta Sinfónica Simón Bolívar (Simón Bolívar Symphonic Orchestra).

Rugeles has composed some works using electroacoustic media, such as: "Thingsphonia" for tape in 1978; "Oracion para Clamar por los Oprimidos" for voice, flute, oboe, harp, double bass and synthesizers in 1989; and "Hace veinte años".

(text updated: January, 2008)

Ressources disponibles pour ce compositeur :
- Liste des compositions (3 compositions)

Table des matières :