Latin American Electroacoustic Music Collection

Beatriz Ferreyra (Argentina)

Beatriz Ferreyra (born in Córdoba, 1937) studied piano with Celia Bronstein in Buenos Aires from 1950 to 1956, harmony and musical analysis with Nadia Boulanger in 1962, electroacoustic music with Edgardo Canton in 1963, and composition with Earl Brown and Gorgy Ligeti in Darmstad in 1967.

She worked at O.R.T.F. from 1963 to 1970 at the Research Department, participating in the G.R.M., under the leadership, at that time, of Pierre Schaeffer. She contributed to Schaeffer's book "Traité des Objets Musicaux " and was collaborating with the realization of the "Solfège de l'Objet Sonore" records, also by Pierre Schaeffer.

Among other works, she composed at GRM "Demeures Aquatiques" in 1967, "Médisances" in 1968 and "L'Orvietan" in 1970, all three tape works. "Antartide", music for a film by J.J. Flori, in 1971. "Siesta Blanca" in 1972 and "Canto del Loco" in 1974, both tape pieces produced at studios of GMEB. "Homo Sapiens", music for a film by F.Mariani, between 1974-75. "Tierra Quebrada" for violin and tape in 1976. Between 1980 and 1984, "Jeux des Rondes" for piano and tape. During 1982 she composed "Boucles, Rosettes et Serpentins" at GMEB, "La Calesita" at the Blanc-Mesnil Conservatory and "Cercles des Rondes". From 1983 is "Bruissements", for oboe and tape. "Passacaille deboitée pour un lutin" for lute and tape is from 1984, and "Petit Poucet Magazine" and "The U.F.O. forest", both produced at GMEB, are from 1985. From 1987 is "L'Autre… ou le chant des marécages". Between 1988 and 1997 Ferreyra composed "Souffle d'un petit Dieu distrait". "Tata, tocame la toccata" and "Remolinos", both in 1990.
Some of her recent works are: "Río de los pajaros azules", composed at Dartmouth College in 1999. "Río de los pajaros escondidos", composed at GRM bewteen 1999 and 2000. "Jazz't for Miles", "Vivencias" and "La ba-balle du chien-chien à la mé-mère", all three from 2001. "Cantos de antes" from 2002. "Murmureln" and "Le Solfegiste solfegé", both from 2003. And "Les chemins du vent des glaces", from 2002-2004.

(last update by RDF: February, 2005)

Resources available for this composer:
- List of compositions (19 compositions)