Latin American Electroacoustic Music Collection

Luis Maria Serra (Argentina)

Luis Maria Serra (born in Lanús, 1942) was studying at CLAEM - Instituto Di Tella between 1967 and 1968; in 1969 went to Paris to study at GRM with Pierre Schaeffer, François Bayle and Bernard Parmegiani.

During the 70s he founded together with Susana Barón Supervielle and Lionel Filippi the studio ARTE 11 - Atelier de Realizaciones Técnico Electroacústicas. Serra together with Susana Espinosa and Jorge Padin were on the directive team until the studio closed in 1978.

Among other works he composed: "Tenebrae Factae Sunt" for tape in 1968; "Canto de los Suplicantes" for orchestra, chorus and tape, and "Invocation" for tape, both in 1969; "Abismos" for piano and tape in 1970; "Ipse" realized at ARTE 11, and "Soles" realized at GMEB in Bourges, France, both pieces for tape, in 1971; "Q'ura K'ura" for tape in 1973, realized at GMEB in Bourges; "Visiones" for tape in 1976, realized at ARTE 11; "Cántico de las Creaturas" for tape between 1981 and 1983, realized at his personal studio; "Obertura y Alabanza" in 1984; "Melólogo I" and "Poblaciones", both in 1987; "A.M.A. DEUX" in 1991; "Impromptu" for tape in 1993; "Marina - de un tiempo de verano" in 1998; and "Invierno de plata" in 2002.

Luis María Serra is also widely recognized for his film music.

(text updated: October, 2003)

Resources available for this composer:
- List of compositions (7 compositions)