Latin American Electroacoustic Music Collection

Reginaldo Carvalho (Brazil)

Reginaldo Carvalho (born in Guarabira, 1932) composed between 1956 and 1959 at the "Estudio de Experiencias Musicais" (Musical Experiences Studio) in Rio de Janeiro his first concrète pieces on tape. In 1960 he moved to Brasilia, the new capital city of the country, where he composed new concrète works at Radio Educadora. Later he returned to Rio de Janeiro where he founded the "Estudio de Musica Experimetntal" (EME), producing there some new electroacoustic works in 1966. At that time Carvalho was appointed director of the Conservatorio Nacional de Canto Orfeônico de Rio de Janeiro, name that he changed by Instituto Villa-Lobos. This became an important center for studying and promoting new music. Among other, Jorge Antunes and Marlene Fernandes were also collaborating at the Institute.

Some of the electroacoustic pieces by Reginaldo Carvalho are: "Si bemol" from 1956, probably the first concrète piece realized in Brazil; and later the same year "Temática" and "Troço I". During 1957 he composed "Troço II", for tape too. All of these works were based on piano sounds.

Carvalho started to experiment then with other sound objects and composed "Estudo I" in 1958 working with glass sounds, and "Estudo II" in 1959 with sounds coming from wood objects. Between 1963 and 1964 he composed "Studio III" based on water sounds, and during 1964 the "Studio IV" working with plastic objects. Also from 1963-1964 is "Alegria de Natal", a piece for mixed chorus and tape.

During 1964 he also composed "Fumaça: Ressonancias" and during 1965 "Piano Surpresa No.1" and "Piano Surpresa No.2" (also named "Estudo incoerente") for tape. In 1966 he composed "A Pulserinha", "A Tesourinha", "Cleta" and "Cemiterio sem Flores", and the following year "Caleidoscópio III", all of these works for tape.

Carvalho lives today in Piauí, Teresina.

(text updated: October, 2003)

Resources available for this composer:
- List of compositions (1 composition)