Latin American Electroacoustic Music Collection

Aluízio Arcela (Brazil)

Aluízio Arcela (born in João Pessoa, Paraíba, 1948), mainly a researcher with works in the computer music, digital images and multimedia fields also composed some musical pieces: "Cinco Hierarquias Espectrais" in 1993; and "/cartas/" in 1995. In 1997 he presented at the IV Brazilian Symposium on Music and Computers (IV Simpósio Brasileiro de Computação e Música) an on-line concert with "Three-Threaded Invention", written for one sonic client and three graphic servers. Arcela described the work as "a client-server application for music where graphic servers are arranged in a a way to provide visual counterparts to the real-time events generated by a sonic client."

Arcela's research started in 1975 in the electrical engineering department of the Pontifical Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro.

In 1977 Arcela presented his thesis "Dynamic Spectra-Generating System for the Synthesis of Musical Signals" explaining a system for producing frequency spectra within the range of humanly audible frequencies. The system combined digital and analog technologies.

In 1983 Arcela was invited to join the Brasilia University and start a program in computing there. He asked then to do also research in the field of computer music and to have a laboratory. A short time later the Spectral Processing Lab (Laboratório de Processamento Espectral) was born at the University in Brasilia.

In 1989 Arcela created the Master in Computer Music at the University of Brasilia, the first University-level computer music course in South America.

He also developed software for sound synthesis (as the Som-A programming language for additive sound synthesis), algorithmic musical composition, and computer image generation based on musical intervals.

(text updated: October, 2003)

Resources available for this composer:
- List of compositions (1 composition)