Latin American Electroacoustic Music Collection

Blas Emilio Atehortúa (Colombia)

Blas Emilio Atehortúa (born in Santa Elena, 1933) is a prolific composer with and extensive catalog of instrumental and vocal music. He was, as many of the relevant Latin American composers of the last decades, granted with scholarships to study at CLAEM-Instituto Di Tella in Argentina. That happened during 1963-1964 and again during 1966-1967. It was during his stay in Buenos Aires in 1966 that Atehortúa composed "Syrigma I", his first electroacoustic piece for tape. Other works by Atehortúa are: "Sonocromías" for tape, also from 1966; "Himnos de Amor y Vida" for soprano, 2 pianos, 2 percussionists and tape, from 1967; "Cuatro danzas para una leyenda guajira" for tape, from 1970; "Elegía No. 2, a un hombre de paz" for baritone, bass, 2 choruses, winds, percussions and tape, and "Psico-cosmos" for orchestra, percussions and tape, both from 1972.

(text updated: October, 2003)

Resources available for this composer:
- List of compositions (1 composition)