Musique électroacoustique latino-américaine

Mesías Maiguashca (Équateur)

[Traduction non disponible]
Mesías Maiguashca (born in Quito, 1938) have been working extensively with electroacoustic and new medias in his music for many years.

He studied music in Quito, New York (Eastman School, 1958-1963) and Buenos Aires (CLAEM - Instituto Torcuato di Tella, 1963-1965) before to move to Germany to study at first at Musikhochschule Köln from 1966 to 1968, and live there from then.

Some of his pieces are "Segundo cuarteto de cuerdas" from 1967, a piece using live electronics; "Dort wo wir leben", his first tape only work, composed at the studio of Musikhochschule Köln also in 1967 using concrète and electronic sounds; "Hör Zu", concrete and electronic music from 1969; "A Mouth-piece", for 6 vocalists and elcectronics from 1970; "Ayayayayay", concrete and electronic music from 1971; "Übungen" for violin, clarinet, cello and 3 synthesizers, "Übungen" for violin and synthesizer, and "Übungen" for cello and synthesizer, all three from 1972-1973; "Öldorf 8" for violin, clarinet, cello, organ, synthesizer and tuba from 1972-1974; "Solitarum" for 6 vocalists and electronics from 1975; "Lindgren" for bass melody instruments and tape from 1976; "… y ahora vamos por aquí…" for 8 instruments and tape from 1977; "Agualarga" for 2 keyboards and electronics from 1978; "Intensidad y Altura" for 6 percussionists and tape from 1979; "Fmelodies I" for computer sounds and instrumental ensemble from 1980; "Ecos" for 36 musicians, 32 sound objects and electronic sounds from 1981-1982; "Fmelodies II" for cello, percussion and tape from 1983-1984; "Barcarola Bitística" for 2 micro-computers and video monitors from 1985; "A Mandelbox", computer installation from 1987-1988; "Como…" for tape from 1988; "Video-Memorias" for speaker, computer-synthesizer and cello, "Vorwort zu Solaris " for cello, trumpet, percussion sax and tape, "Vorwort zu Solaris " for Baroque Ensemble and tape, "moments musicaux/The Wings of Perception I" for string quartet and tape, and "Nemos Orgel" for organ and tape, all from 1989; pieces from the cycle Reading Castañeda (1993) including: "The Wings of Perception II" for tape from 1989-1992, "Die Zauberflöte/Sacateca's Dance" for flute, tape, radio baton and computer from 1985-1992, "El Oro" for speaker, flute, cello and tape from 1992, "The Spirit Catcher" for cello, tape, radio baton and computer from 1992-1993, and "The Nagual" for metal objects, radio baton, computer and tape from 1993; "Die Feinde, eine Minioper" for 2 tenors, string quartet, 2 bass clarinets and electronics from 1995-1997; "Tiefen" for 8 loudspeakers from 1998; "El Tiempo" for 2 flutes, 2 clarinets, 2 cellos, 2 percussionists and electronics from 1999-2000; "La noche cíclica" for 4 PowerBooks from 2002; "La noche cíclica" for violin, cello, marimba, keyboard and 4 amplitude modulators from 2001; "La celda", musical theatre for an actor, video projection and 8 loudspeakers.

(text updated: October, 2003)

Ressources disponibles pour ce compositeur :
- Liste des compositions (16 compositions)

Table des matières :