Musique électroacoustique latino-américaine

Javier Garavaglia, Ninth (Music for viola and computer), 2002

Durée de l'enregistrement : 11 min 57 s.
Instruments : Pour alto et Max/MSP
Remarques : Javier Garavaglia, alto.

Autres ressources disponibles :
- À propos de Javier Garavaglia
- Compositions par Javier Garavaglia

À propos de cette composition :

[Traduction française non disponible]
Ninth is a piece in which only one instrument and computer interact.

The materials (sounds, rhythms and pitches) are taken from Bruckner's ninth Symphony in D minor (third movement - Adagio). The composition for the viola part was worked with advanced techniques and mostly all the pitches are played as flageolet (natural harmonics) sounds.

The computer part (programmed with MAX - MSP) has several instruments (patches), going from filtering, to Sample & Hold (triggered by the amplitude of the input from the viola), to convolution, dynamic delays or AM (all interacting with each other). There are two samples stored in the computer, which are originally taken from the F# dominant chord on bar 17 of the general score of the Symphony, which interact with the viola and the patches. They were previously modified with Phase Vocoding (time stretching treatment) and slightly varying in the pitch.

The form of the piece, like Bruckner's Adagio, is in a ABAB like-form with a Coda. The title "Ninth" recalls not only Bruckner's Symphony, but also the initial interval of its third movement (a minor ninth).

Tecnical Description:
Viola with contact Mic (input direct in the computer)

Apple Powerbook or desktop computer (minimum G3 500)

Stereo Output (sound manager or Digital Interface)

Diffusion for at least 4 Channels (better 6) and somebody in charge of the diffusion on the console.

Table des matières :