Latin American Electroacoustic Music Collection

Alejandro Viñao (Argentina)

Alejandro Viñao (born in Buenos Aires, 1951) is another composer with a significative catalog of works including electroacoustic and computer medias.

Some of his works are: "Una orquesta imaginaria", four channel electroacoustic composition from 1979; "Go" eight channel electroacoustic composition from 1981; "Hendrix Haze", four channel electroacoustic composition from 1983; "Triple Concerto" for flute, cello, piano and computer from 1984; "Toccata del Mago" for 8 strings (4 violins, 2 violas, 1 cello and 1 double bass) and computer from 1986-1987; "Son Entero" for 4 singers (S.A.T.B.) and computer from 1985-1988; "Tumblers" for violin, marimba and computer from 1989; "Chant D'Ailleurs" from 1991-1992, "Borges y el Espejo" from 1992 and "Hildegard's Dream" from 1994, all three pieces for soprano and computer; "Phrase & Fiction" for string quartet and computer from 1994-1995; "Apocryphal Dances" for symphony orchestra and computer, from 1996-1997; "Rashomon: the opera", opera for 5 singers, mixed choir and computer from 1995-1999; and "Eipitafios" for mixed choir and computer from 1999.

Alejandro Viñao lives in London, England.

(text updated: October, 2003)

Resources available for this composer:
- List of compositions (7 compositions)